Bharat Gaurav Train Starts Operations From Mumbai; Details Here

Starting from Mumbai's Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus, the train will cover various destinations, including Pune, Solapur, and Guntakal, exhibiting India's rich cultural heritage
Bharat Gaurav Train
Bharat Gaurav Trainirctctourism/website

Starting November 17, Indian Railways' Bharat Gaurav train is set to commence its journey from Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus (CSMT), covering various destinations, including Mumbai, Pune, Solapur, Guntakal, Renigunta, Rameshwaram, Madurai, Kanyakumari, and Kochuveli. This initiative is a move to promote 'Dekho Apna Desh and Ek Bharat Shreshtha Bharat', exhibiting India's rich cultural and religious heritage to domestic and international tourists.

Following a circular route, the tour will conclude back at CSMT on November 25. Boarding and deboarding halts are scheduled at multiple stations along the way.

The Package

The IRCTC-managed train offers three package options—Economy, Comfort, and Deluxe—incorporating train fare, meals, accommodation, and transportation.

For representational purposes
For representational purposesShuttertock

About Bharat Gaurav Trains 

Indian Railways launched Bharat Gaurav Tourist Trains, running on themed circuits. These journeys follow various circuits offered as tour packages, providing off-board travel, bus excursions, hotel stays, tour guides, meals, travel insurance, and comfortable train travel alongside onboard services.

These trains include Sleeper (Non-AC), AC III tier, and AC II tier coaches. Adorned with pictures of Indian monuments, sculptures, landmarks, and dance forms, they accommodate 600-700 seats. They feature infotainment systems, CCTV cameras, and a fully equipped pantry car for onboard meal preparation. Some of the circuit options include Karnataka Bharat Gaurav Tourist Train and Jain Yatra.

Inside view of a luxury train
Inside view of a luxury trainCRS PHOTO / Shutterstock

As part of the Karnataka circuit, the Bharat Gaurav train travels to Kashi, Prayag, Gaya, and Ayodhya. This fully AC train includes 11 AC III-tier coaches, providing space for 700 tourists. It features a modified pantry car and showcases the heritage and temples of Karnataka on its exterior. The state government extends a subsidy to the pilgrims.

For the Jain circuit, the journey aims to highlight Jainism's cultural and spiritual importance by exploring the Jain pilgrimages of Sammed Shikhar. The 9-day Panchtirth Yatra provides an immersive experience inclusive of accommodation, bus transfers, and Jain cuisine.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Outlook Traveller