Government To Reward Tourists Travelling to 15 Domestic Destinations

The decision was announced at the National Tourism Conference. It was also mentioned that the Sun Temple of Konark will be added to the iconic sites list
The Sun Temple of Konark will be added to the list of 'iconic sites'
The Sun Temple of Konark will be added to the list of 'iconic sites'

It is every traveller&rsquos dream to be able to travel for free. Now, reality has caught up with our aspirations. At the concluding day of the National Tourism Conference, Union Tourism Minister Prahlad Singh Patel mentioned that the government will reward any person who visits 15 domestic tourist destinations in one year by covering their travel expenses as an incentive, according to news reports. This comes under the &lsquoDekho Apna Desh&rsquo scheme. In fact, the ministry may also bring back lucky draws and gifts (tickets and travel packages) to motivate people further. The conference, in association with The Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FICCI), was organised by Odisha government. 

During his speech at Red Fort in 2019, Prime Minister Narendra Modi urged citizens to take a pledge to travel to 15 locations in India by 2022. Those who finish this task in a year will be eligible to apply for the reward. You can take a pledge in the campaign by visiting this website, and receive a certificate in return by email or text message.

Minister Prahlad Singh Patel also said that the Sun Temple of Konark in Odisha will be added to the list of &lsquoiconic sites&rsquo. Additionally, Gujarat and Odisha have signed a Memorandum of Intent (MoI), that will facilitate cross-promotion of tourist sites of the two states. A Memorandum of Understanding will soon be signed. It will include the policies and framework to be followed.

With inputs from IANS 

Related Stories

No stories found.
Outlook Traveller