Another Air Bubble Pact India and Japan

Indias air bubble arrangement now extends to 13 countries
As of 2019, Japan has around 38,000 Indian residents
As of 2019, Japan has around 38,000 Indian residents

India has now established an&nbspair travel bubble&nbspwith Japan allowing Indian and&nbspJapanese carriers&nbspto operate services between the countries. The arrangement will allow stranded individuals&nbspholding&nbspvalid Japanese visas&nbspto travel from India to Japan, subject to the border measures and other protocols set by the Japanese government, and vice versa.

All airlines will have to ensure that there is no travel restriction for Indian nationals with a particular visa category to enter Japan, before issuing the tickets.

Under the arrangement, any stranded Indian nationals, all Overseas Citizen of India (OCI) cardholders, and individuals with valid visas issued by an Indian mission in any category covered under&nbspthe Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) guidelines, are free to travel.

Recently, travel bubbles with Iraq and Afghanistan has also been established by India. With this, India&rsquos air bubble arrangement now extends to 13 countries including USA, UK, France, Germany, Canada, the Maldives, UAE, Qatar, Bahrain and Nigeria.

Union Civil Aviation Minister,&nbspHardeep Singh Puri, last month&nbsphad announced India has been negotiating with 13 other countries to establish air bubbles for&nbspinternational&nbspflight operations.

&ldquoThese countries include Australia, Italy, Japan, New Zealand, Nigeria, Bahrain, Israel, Kenya, Philippines, Russia, Singapore, South Korea and Thailand. The ongoing negotiations will benefit stranded Indians and nationals of these countries.&rdquo

Related Stories

No stories found.
Outlook Traveller