3 Islands In Andamans Have Been Renamed

Prime Minister Narendra Modi renamed three islands in the Andaman Nicobar to pay tribute to Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose
View of Andaman Nicobar island
View of Andaman Nicobar island

In your future visit to the islands of Andaman and Nicobar make sure to check the names of the islands where you plan to travel because three major tourist spots of the Andamans have been renamed. Marking the 75th anniversary of the Indian national flag raising by Netaji &nbspSubhash Chandra Bose for independence, the Ross Island has been renamed as Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Dweep, the Neil Island as Shaheed Dweep and Havelock Island would now be known as Swaraj Dweep. Now you can explore the island with a sense of pride about India&rsquos freedom struggle.

Although the beauty of the island remains flawless, the re-naming just gives a more patriotic feel to the places. The government has also planned to bring some development strategies to the people of the island like employment, medical care and facilities for farmers. This move could increase the tourist attraction to the islands as it adds up the historical factor to the place. Netaji&rsquos freedom struggle movement would play a great role in understanding the significance of the island for Indian independence. 

The re-naming was done in order to honour the martyrs tortured and executed at the Cellular Jail in the Island. The Prime Minister also introduced a new commemorative stamp and 75 rupee coin on this auspicious occasion. &nbspEnjoy the mesmerising islands of Andaman Nicobar and encounter the glimpse of the Indian freedom struggle.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Outlook Traveller