Check Out These Famous Mountains With Spiritual Significance

OT Staff

Mount Everest

Mount Everest, in Tibet and Nepal, is the Earth's highest point at about 29,029 feet above sea level. It's also a place of great spiritual importance, with the famous Rongbuk Monastery at its base, visited by the Sherpa people for its spiritual energy.

Nanda Devi

Nanda Devi, meaning "The Goddess which gives Bliss," is a sacred mountain in the Garhwal Himalayas. Trekking in this region is famous as it leads to the holy abode of Goddess Nanda Devi, making it one of the world's sacred mountains.

Mount Everest | Shutterstock

Machu Picchu

Machu Picchu, the renowned ruins in Peru, was constructed in the 15th century for Incan emperor Pachacuti's relaxation and worship. It's situated on a mountain ridge 2,430 meters (7,970 ft) high, close to the sacred Urubamba River, which holds spiritual importance due to its fertility and cosmic qualities.

Machu Picchu | Shutterstock

Mauna Kea

All five volcanoes on Hawaii's Big Island are sacred to native Hawaiians, but Mauna Kea, standing at 13,796 feet above sea level, is especially revered. Known as Maunakea, it holds deep significance in Hawaiian culture as the first landform created in their traditional origin story. 

Mauna Kea | Shutterstock

Mount Shasta

This 14,180-foot volcano in north-central California is considered sacred by the Winnemem Wintu people. They believe it's the source of all life, as it feeds the headwaters of the Upper Sacramento River. 

Milky Way over Mount Shasta | Shutterstock


Uluru is a massive sandstone rock formation in the centre of Australia, renowned as a famous landmark and significant spiritual site. The Anangu, the native Aboriginal People, are its rightful owners. They believe ancient spirits reside here, and Uluru is the site of numerous rituals and ceremonies.

Uluru | Shutterstock

Mount Kailash

Mount Kailash, a 21,778-foot tall mountain in Tibet's Transhimalaya range, is sacred in Buddhism, Bon, Hinduism, and Jainism. It's where Hindus believe Lord Shiva meditates eternally, and Buddhists believe the deity Demchok resides.

South face of the sacred Mount Kailash in Tibet | Shutterstock


Áhkká is a significant mountain in northern Sweden, over 6,610 feet high. It's part of a group of 13 peaks in Stora Sjöfallet National Park and holds great spiritual importance for the Sami tribe. 

Áhkká peak | Shutterstock

Black Hills

The "Black Hills" in South Dakota gets its name from the Lakota Sioux, "Pahá Sápa," which means "hills that are black" due to their dark appearance. This area is sacred to Indigenous tribes like the Lakota, who hold celebrations, traditional dances, and worship ceremonies here. 

Mount Rushmore National Memorial, Black Hills | Shutterstock